You’ll Want to Join Our Gang!

Ceramic Tile Coasters
By Mary Chong

Ceramic Tile Coasters are a super easy project to make. They make great gifts – given individually or as a set tied with a pretty ribbon bow. A friend of mine gives them to teachers/baby sitters and has her kids decorate and sign/date the underside of the coasters.

This is also an easy project to “assembly line” if you wanted to make a whole bunch. Once they are stamped you can take your time colouring and then top coat them all at one time.

You can also use this same technique to make fridge magnets – just buy 1×1 tiles and hot glue heavy duty magnets onto the back.

Supplies:
– unglazed 4×4 ceramic tiles (I use tumbled marble)
– stazon ink pads
– detailed stamps (rubber or acrylic)
– stazon stamp cleaner or similar
– coloured pencils or markers
– clear acrylic spray paint (ie. Krylon)
– felt/cork/rubber cushions for “feet”

 

 

Step 1 – Prepare the tiles
It is very important that the tiles you buy are unglazed so that the ink will adhere to the tile and won’t just “sit” on top
– Wash and dry thoroughly the ceramic tile to ensure there is no dust or residue.

Step 2 – Plan out your design
Stazon ink is permanent – once you’ve stamped it there is no going back so take a moment now to decide how you want your design to look. I often choose a stamp that has an antique look to it. This way it doesn’t matter if I don’t get a perfect impression when I stamp.

Step 3 – Stamp your design
– Stamp your design with the stazon ink – I like to use brown ink because it gives an antique feel especially with the tumbled marble tile.
– Tiles are a bit slick and your stamp may slip and slide so be careful and take your time.
– Don’t forget to clean your stamps afterwards to prevent staining.
– I am showing 2 versions – one done with markers and one done with pencil crayons so that you can see the difference between the 2 colouring medium.
(I’m using stamps by Stampin’ Up! and Krista Schneider for Sunshine Designs)

 

Step 3 – Colour your design
– Once the stazon ink is totally dry. Apply colour with pencil crayons, markers, or chalks.
– You can even layer your colours or layer your colouring medium together.

 

**NOTE: Some people pop their tiles into an oven at this point to cure the design – 350 degrees Fahrenheit for 20 minutes OR they heat them with their embossing gun for a while and then cool overnight. Personally I’ve never done this and my tiles have weathered the test of time… Either way – continue to Step 4.

Step 4 – Protect your design
– Take your project outside (due to the paint fumes) and spray multiple light coats of clear acrylic paint, allowing the paint to dry between coats.
– An aerosol spray is preferred to a liquid paint to avoid brush strokes.
– A few light coats is better than 1 heavy coat. Be careful here too because if you spray to heavy a coat your design may run.

Step 5 – Protect your surface
– Apply bumpers/feet to the bottom of the tile so that it doesn’t scratch your table.

Here’s my finished project

We hope you like this tutorial! Drop us a comment and let us know what you think or better yet upload a photo of your finished coasters into the gallery!

Comments on: "Technique Tidbit Thursday – Ceramic Tile Coasters" (22)

  1. alimom4 said:

    Awesome tutorial; a pleasure to read & learn from. A beautiful project! TY Mary!

  2. Rubyvm Inspired Scrapper said:

    Super tutorial . Great project and I can see the gifts that they would make. Thanks Mary for the inspiration.

  3. Robin I said:

    This is absolutely adorable! Love the idea and what wonderful gifts. Where did you get the marble coasters at

  4. My tiles were purchased at Home Depot – but i’m sure you can get them at any major hardware store.

  5. I am soooooo going to try this! These are gorgeous!!!

  6. This rocks, Mary!!

  7. Beautiful!!! I can’t wait to try it!!!

  8. That is really neat!

  9. Rubyvm Inspired Scrapper said:

    I went to Home Depot and Rona and for tumbled marble they wanted 5.99 and 6.99 each for tumbled marble. I would like to have feedback at the cost of these tiles.

    • Home Depot sells a pack of 9 4×4 tumbled marble for $4.99 in the backsplash tile section in Florring, I work at one.

  10. I have been looking for information on how to get the paint to adhere or what kind to use. I hope we can find some inexpensive tiles. I will look around and see what price I can find

  11. […] links >> ceramictiles The 2008 Guide to Baby Nursery Decor Saved by niehle on Mon 15-12-2008 Technique Tidbit Thursday – Ceramic Tile Coasters Saved by cdwarren on Mon 08-12-2008 Trinity Carpet & Flooring – Flooring Care – Ceramic Tile […]

  12. Thank you for the instructions. I was trying to make a trivet. After I sprayed with KRYLON some of the images bleed or feathered. I think I sprayed on to heavy.

  13. Ruby inspired scrapper: I repeatedly see them for approx $2 each at Home depot. keep trying – you’ll find them.

    Julie: The key is to spray lots of light coats to seal it – not heavy.

    The tiles must be unglazed “raw” before you begin this project.

  14. Loved your tutorial and the decorative tiles. Will have to think about offering a class on the magnets!

  15. This is a great outline of what to do, thank you very much, they look beautiful, headed to Hobby Lobby, Micheals, and Home Depot tomorrow to start mine!! Thanks again!!

  16. Thanks for the tutorial this was an excellent site to go to.

  17. Richard Troy said:

    I want to place a promotional advert for my company on a tile/coaster. I can supply the artwork. can you guide me as to where I might get these tiles produced.
    Thanks

  18. These ceramic tiles don’t get slippery proving them useful in the areas where water flows like bathroom and kitchen.

  19. I have done similar coasters with decoupage. What I find is that after spraying the sealer (krylon or triple thick) that even though it is dry it still takes on dents and scratches days and weeks after completion. It is as if the sealer has not cured fully. Any suggestions?

  20. where can I find alphabet stamps that would be small enough to stamp on 2″ tile?

  21. If, for any reason, you are equally eligible for obtaining consolidate
    credit debt. So with a debt consolidation loan that is taken out at a
    bank or credit union. A debt professional takes your high interest debts but
    you’d rather save money by rolling them into a single loan.

Leave a comment