You’ll Want to Join Our Gang!

Can you believe that we have had 10 weeks of scrappin’ green tips? WOW! You can access the previous articles on your right—-> Lots of great ideas!

This week, I’ve written an article that combines scrappy tips from Mary Chong, Deanne Burton and “Yours truly” to make our hobby a little greener and safer for our precious earth. Read on! Happy Friday everyone!
~Scrappin’ Green Tips from Mary, Deanne and Ali~

Mary Chong, one of our new Scrapbooker’s Club House Design Team members, shared these super scrappin’ green tips:

*To save paper, cut multiple mats from 1 piece of cardstock ie~ if matting an 8×10” photo – cut the middle out of the mat, and you’ll have a mat for a 4×6” photo.
*Use scraps for die-cutting – some cutting systems allow for use of small pieces of paper.
*When you need a little bit of an accent colour, use scraps: cut circles or squares with punches.
*Save your scraps and use to make cards, gift tags, and note cards.
*Use your circle punch with your scraps and adhere them in a row behind a mat – you’ve made an interesting scalloped edge!
*Use your scraps to punch shapes or designs – glue them in an abstract pattern on the corner of a 3×5” index card or similar cardstock and you now have a custom little notecard!

Here are 2 samples I made using a variation of Mary’s index card idea. (Thanks Mary!)

Photobucket

Deanne Burton sent in the following tip: “A student of mine gave me a gift at the end of the school year in a beautifully decorated paper bag that he coloured and designed himself. I didn’t have the heart to throw the bag away so I tore off his artwork and used it as the background in this layout I created.” (Deanne’s LO is based on a sketch by Adrienne L. at http://scrappin-a-rose.blogspot.com/ )

Photobucket

Deanne also shared the idea of using the inside (bubble) portion of a padded envelope to create an interesting background. Although paint is commonly used with bubble-wrap to create a background, Deanne used Tim Holtz distress ink and found it made a softer pattern when pressed on her background cardstock than did paint.

Here in NS, all of our paper and boxboard is placed in a bag at curbside for later sorting/ recycling. To gather up bits and pieces of paper at my desk as I scrap, I have a simple tip. I keep an empty tissue box on my desk with the plastic insert at the top removed (I recycle this plastic piece as per local laws.) As I scrap, I throw all the itty-bitty bits of paper into the box. Once the initially empty tissue box is full, (takes a few days) I can just throw it in the correct recycling bag (in our case, this is a clear bag.) No tiny bits of paper flying everywhere: they are INSIDE the box. And, a plus: I empty the paper recycling bin in my office LESS often– again with no more flying itty-bitties! LOL!

Photobucket

Here’s a final tip to reduce paper waste and to add an historic touch to your layouts for years down the road. Using a “Handmade by…” reusable stamp [mine is by Inkadinkado (#6706-L)], I stamp a bunch of labels on scrap cardstock pieces. Then I trim these and store on my scrap desk in a little caddy, within easy reach. (I even use the back of cardstock where I have made “journaling mistakes” for these labels.) When I complete a page, I turn it over and glue on a label in a CS colour that “coordinates.” Then I sign and date it. (I also number my layouts using this method.)

Photobucket

I hope you’ve enjoyed this edition of Scrappin’ Green and learned a few easy tips to help protect our precious planet as you craft beautiful memories! Feel free to send your “green scrappy tips” and article ideas to me at peteali@eastlink.ca. Thanks for reading!

PS~
You can find Mary at: http://www.marys-creative-zone.blogspot.com/
You can find Deanne at: http://a-scrapaddict.blogspot.com/

Comments on: "Scrappin’ Green~ Tips for Eco-Friendly Memory Keeping: 10th Edition" (2)

  1. Wow, great tips ladies!!! TYFS!!! I will definately be using some of these tips!

  2. Nicole Drewniak said:

    Super tips! Tfs!

Leave a Reply

