You’ll Want to Join Our Gang!

Each month Scrapbooker’s Club House will Spotlight one of our awesome Design Team Members. They will share a bit about how they started this wonderful hobby we call scrapbooking and share their favorite techniques! Enjoy!

Our SBCH Spotlight – Design Team Member – Ali!

100_0720_125.jpg

How did you begin scrappin’? I began scrapbooking in 2002 when I took my one and only scapbooking class. I’d been scrapping, self-taught, for months without even a trimmer, using scissors for all of that tedious cutting…but let me tell you, it wasn’t long before I had a 12″ trimmer of my very own! That was it, no more excuses!! With 4 children, it was time to make sure that all the memories, not just holidays and birthdays, were documented and saved, to be enjoyed over and over. The acidic photo albums housing our many photos up to that point had to “go”… a project I am STILL working on. Slowly the photos are being used on layouts or housed in acid free photo boxes. I know I’ll never be “caught up, ” but that’s OK. I’m an organizer-extraordinaire and yet my desk and tables prove that I am the MESSIEST scrapbooker, ever! (LOL!)

Whom do you admire in the scrappin’ world? I admire Ali Edwards because she is so “REAL.” Love her graphic, clean style and the honest voice with which she “speaks” on her pages. Her most recent book was amazing, so full of inspiration! Ali E has a son with Autism Spectrum Disorder, as do I. I can relate to Ali E easily; I “get her.” I feel like I could sit down and chat with her anytime. She makes me want to “tell my story.” I have stories busting out all over: scrapbooking and writing create a rich blend, like coffee. It’s best when shared!

Favourite scrappy techniques: My favourite scrappy techniques are designing buttons clusters, appliquéing fabric trimmed from vintage clothing, plus inking and sanding. I also love to “sew on paper.” All that texture looks and feels incredible! Doodling has become a new passion & I highly recommend the Uniball Signo gel pen in white for that. Right now I’m into scalloped edges, usually hand-trimmed for my layouts using a traced template. My favourite paper lines are Basic Grey & 3 Bugs in a Rug, but exploring & creating with the products in the fab monthly kits from SBCH has allowed me to learn and helped me stretch my creativity. What else could a learning-junkie ask for? I love each moment of this (messy) creative process, and feel honoured to be a part of the SBCH Design Team.

Here are some of Ali’s awesome creations!

100_2207-1-25.jpg

100_332125.jpg

100_333125.jpg

 

Come and check out some of Ali’s other awesome creations in her DT Gallery!!

 

 

 

Comments on: "SBCH Spotlight – Design Team – Ali!" (3)

  1. Thanks for sharing Ali! I love that pic of you and your ds. :0)

  2. great pic of you and noah! love learning more and more about you my friend!

  3. Awesome spotlight Ali!!! Love the projects you have shared! Interesting info too!

Leave a Reply

