You’ll Want to Join Our Gang!

Scrapbooker’s Club House Guest Designer Spotlight:

  Ann Seleshanko  

** Talented, creative Ann agreed to chat with me this month about her love of scrapbooking and cardmaking, since she was chosen as the Scrapbooker’s Club House Guest Designer for February 2009:  Big Congrats Ann! **  

Ann Seleshanko’s friend took her to a scrapbooking class ten years ago, and that was it: She was hooked! :)  (I know that so many of us can relate to this!)  

Nowadays, if you peek into her scrapbooking room, you can clearly see that patterned paper is her weakness. When I asked her to name her favourite brand of patterned paper, she said she couldn’t choose just one, and instead gave three: Fancy Pants, Basic Grey and My Mind’s Eye. 

Guess what scrappy supply Ann collects? You guessed it: PATTERNED PAPER!

Asked to describe her scrappy style for this interview, Ann said “I have very ‘clean lines’ when I scrapbook.  I love using lots of patterned paper but I tend to keep the embellishments to a minimum.”

 As far as cardstock goes, Ann prefers Bazzill, and four in particular are her “go-to” colours: White Bazzill Texture, Stonewash, Parakeet & Pomegranate. As Ann tells it, “I’m always using these.” 

Ann names scrapbook celebrity Ali Edwards as influencing her scrapbooking approach, stating “it’s not so much her scrapping style that has inspired me but her philosophy to embrace your own style and that ‘it’s ok’.” 

Storage for buttons, as described by Ann, are “little jars that I have to dump out each time to find the right button.” She seems to have found the perfect way to store her brads though, by organizing them in a Making Memories sortable: “I love how easy it is to see them all!” Ann told me.     

Moving on to lace and ribbon, Ann is in the process of making a change and is taking these items out of the jars where she had them stored and moving them to clear plastic bags that she can easily hang on her ‘Clip it Up.’

Organizing her layouts in albums had previously been done chronologically, by year. At present, explains Ann, “I have the last 2 years just in stacks.  I think I’m going to break these down into themes, like Christmas, Summer Vacation, People we love etc… It’s a project I’m hoping to tackle sometime soon.” 

Asked if she preferred wood-mounted or clear stamps, the answer I heard was quite interesting… Ann told me that a few years ago, she took almost all of her wood-mounted stamps and unmounted them, placing them on EZ mount. She said “I use both mounted and clear stamps but I must say I prefer the rubber stamps. I just like the image they give better than the clear ones.”

Ann told me that her favourite scrapbooking tools at the moment are her new ATG adhesive applicator gun and her sewing machine, which she uses especially for cards. The set of Copic markers she received at Christmas from her spouse have been a huge hit. “I just love them!” says Ann, with enthusiasm. 

As far as the world of altering goes, Ann says she enjoys it very much, and that her favourite things to alter are lunchboxes.

Asked to describe her preferred layout to me, Ann indicated this one (so gorgeous!)

 Ann says that she created this page with one of Noella  Arsenault’s  “Creatively Yours”  sketches   and  “I wasn’t sure when I started if I liked it but it has really grown on me and now I keep it in a frame by my scrapbooking desk.” 

Ann says she usually scraps at home. Her scraproom is shared with her husband’s computer desk and a TV.  She usually scraps surrounded by her boys and husband, unless the boys are at school. She told me that she is often able to include her children in her hobby by “asking them about patterned paper choices and so on” which she says they love.

In order to make her scrappin’ time really count, Ann will  “try to only scrap if I’m motivated and inspired.  If it’s not “coming” to me I step away from my desk and come back later.”  Ann showed me two recent projects she created

The first is a greeting card and the second, a layout about Ann’s dream kitchen. Both were created with the beautiful & versatile March 2009 “Laundry Line” Kit from Scrapbooker’s Club House.

Aren’t these superb!?! 

 

When I asked her about scrapbooking quirks, Ann described herself as a “neat freak” and said: “I have to clean up after every project or I just can’t get focused on the next one.” 
Ann likes to take photos, which provides her with a ready way to blend scrapbooking and her love of family.  She was kind enough to provide the following bio to share with SBCH readers:

“Hello, my name is Ann and I have been married for 10 years. I am a SAHM of two boys ages 6 and 9.  I’ve been scrapbooking for 10 years and cardmaking for about 7 years.  I tend to scrap in mostly 12×12 format but I am starting to branch out.  Cardmaking is where I have my real fun.  I love to sit and make cards for hours.  I make a lot of cards for friends and family.  I have been very lucky to be on a few design teams and right now I’m also on the Creatively Yours design team.  I have been published in Canadian Scrapbooker and I will have my first publication in Cards magazine this summer.  I am thrilled to be a part of the design team at Scrapbooker’s Club House for the month of February.” 

Thank you Ann for being such a talented & creative Guest Designer for the month of February here at Scrapbooker’s Club House, and for stepping into the “Spotlight” for us today!  Much appreciated.  

~ Ali MacDonald

© Feb 24, 2009

Comments on: "February 2009 Guest Designer Spotlight: Ann Seleshanko!" (3)

  1. Tfs your time and talent with us Ann!

  2. Loved the chance to write up your interview and spotlight Ann! TY for ALL the inspiration you bring to us at SBCH!

  3. great interview and great work! It’s been so fun and inspiring getting to see and know you in the forums.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 28 other followers

