You’ll Want to Join Our Gang!

Today, Scrappin’ Green brings you a fun and creative article by Allyson Bright Meyer. Do you want to use up some SCRAPS and create something beautiful !?? READ ON!

Sunburst Cards
by Allyson Bright Meyer

One of the biggest challenges we scrapbookers face is how to deal with the mass amounts of paper that we consume. When creating full pages, it’s easy to use large beautiful sheets of paper. But what about those little bits and pieces left over? It can be tricky to know how to use up all of those tiny pieces that seem too small for traditional projects. And yet, as scrapbookers, we don’t want to throw those bits away. It’s wasteful and harmful to the environment. Plus, chances are, you paid at least 69 cents for that sheet of paper. Do you really want to throw any of it away?

I’ve come up with a solution for my tiny scraps, and I call it a sunburst card. Creating this unique card is quick and easy – and you’ll be thrilled with the result.

You’ll need: 5×7 blank card (or cut one from cardstock, as I did), a bunch of paper scraps, a stamp or any other embellishments you want for your card.

Cut the patterened paper scraps into strips. You’ll want them to be about 2-3 inches long, and mix it up how wide you cut them. Then, leaving a small area in the center of your card open, adhere the scraps around the edges of the card, creating a “sunburst.”

TIP: It’s easiest if you use a tape runner or double-sided tape, and “frame” the card with the adhesive. That way you can just stick the scraps down, rather than adhering them one at a time.

After you’re done, your card will look like this: Photobucket

Flip the card over, so it looks like this:
Photobucket

Use a paper trimmer (or scissors) to cut the edges of the scraps off, leaving the edges even with the card border: Photobucket

Now, just embellish the center of your card (I used a saying stamp and a fun dimensional flower) and you’re all set!
Photobucket
The final result is a beautiful card that is sure to brighten anyone’s day – and help you become a greener scrapbooker in the process.

Allyson Bright Meyer’s Blog can be found at: http://www.allysonbrightmeyer.com

Comments on: "Scrappin’ Green~Tips for Eco-Friendly Memory Keeping: 15th Edition" (10)

  1. I love this idea! I’ve made two so far and I know I’ll make more. It is such a great way to use scrap and the result is so beautiful!

  2. This is such a fun way to use up scraps! Thanks for sharing !

  3. Nicole Drewniak said:

    So very clever! Tfs!

  4. A pleasure to follow such clear and E-Z directions! Beautiful results too. I will be making more of these for all occasions. TY for the article, Allyson!

  5. This is a FANTASTIC idea. I am always looking fro a way to use up the bits and pieces. I make it a goal to use some scrap on every page, card, or project that I do. ( Don’t always succeed, but I do more often than not!) I talk about it a bit on the new blog Ij ust started a couple weeks ago too. Anyhow, I will be using this idea a LOT! I gift a lot of cards to folks in need or distress, and I can use this method to create gorgeous cards and use up all those slivers! Thanks for the blog articles. I just love them!

  6. I love this card idea! I have made this card with a square base too and it turned out really cute!

  7. Ellen Hanson said:

    Dear Allyson,
    Thank you for an outstanding idea for a card. I never throw away scraps and they were really piling up on me. I’m going to make one right away. Thanks so much.
    Ellen

  8. what a clever idea! i love that it is pretty and useful at the same time!

  9. gives me some good ideas for my scrapes…thanks..

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 27 other followers

